The University

Brief history

The ‘Gabriele d’Annunzio’ University, established in 1965 as a ‘Libera Università’ (non state-owned university), became state-owned in 1982. Today, it has 13 Departments and 2 Schools.There are two university campuses: Chieti, registered office of the university with the offices of the Rector and of General Directorate and Pescara.

The E-learning Centre of Torrevecchia Teatina

In Torrevecchia Teatina, a few miles from the Chieti university campus, there is the E-learning centre that hosts:

  • the ‘Leonardo da Vinci’ E-learning University
  • the Research doctorate in ‘E-learning, Development and Delivery’ of the ‘Gabriele D'Annunzio’ University
  • the academic spin-off Ud’Anet s.r.l.

The Centre carries out constant research in technology innovation for teaching, promotes technology transfer projects and development projects of innovative environments for training and professional coaching.The high level of technological and methodological expertise gives rise to the management and the constant updating of a rich set of e-learning courses:

  • Degree courses
  • Master’s programmes
  • Specialist training courses
A cutting-edge university

Cutting-edge facilities, equipment and education, the young ‘G. d'Annunzio’ University records a steady increase in its student population.Within an urban and metropolitan setting characterised by a high degree of hospitality and comfort, the University aims at offering highly specialised and varied courses, not to mention the chance for students to spend their leisure time enjoying the recreational, sports and cultural activities organised.